LTTP: The Walking Dead Edition

Remember the zombie phase everyone was going through a while back? The phase that created Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and World War Z and The Walking Dead (along with a slew of zombie-related movie remakes)? And it was so popular that the Center for Disease Control and Prevention created a bunch of materials on how to deal with a potential zombie apocalypse?

Truth be told, I didn’t hop on the bandwagon. I don’t know what for or why not but it just didn’t interest me in the way that the vampire phase did. (In a roundabout way, it led me from The Twilight Saga to Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel — how bad could that be?)

Apparently, it was popular enough that the company mentioned in the previous post used it as a serious question during job interviews. I was asked what I would do in the event of a zombie apocalypse. My disinterest in the topic put me at a disadvantage –my answer wasn’t as funny or clever as they were hoping for and I didn’t get the job.

Fast forward to earlier this month when I came across the first issue of The Walking Dead (comic) on my husband’s iPad. (You can read the first issue for free inside via ComiXology). Although I was hesitant, I was more curious and read it anyway. I enjoyed it so much, I went to the local comic book store and picked up a copy of The Walking Dead, Volume 1: Days Gone Bye. The intro by Robert Kirkman is enough to convert even the biggest of zombies skeptics — people like me — into a drooling, adoring horde. Kirkman promises less of a zombie comic and more of a character driven story about a former sheriff’s deputy who awakens from his hospital bed in a world that is so changed and horrific, he doesn’t believe it’s real. The Walking Dead is about Rick’s transformation as he spends more time in the hellish, lawless, zombie-infested world that he was thrust into; a place that challenges and changes the meaning of humanity.

The Walking Dead is a must-own for any zombie enthusiast. But I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good, character-driven story that keeps you on the edge of your seat regardless of whether or not you’re a fan of zombies or comic books.

While I’ve only just finished Volume 1, I’m looking forward to reading the others. In the  meantime, I have been watching The Walking Dead on AMC (the first two seasons are available for streaming via Netflix). So far, so good.

What do you think about walkers or the possibility of a future zombie apocalypse?

[Thank you to ~RamaelK for making the above image available for reuse.]

Discuss!

