Quiche, anyone?

Quite a few years ago, the museum in my little hometown published a cookbook of local, old-timey recipes which I discovered in my parent’s kitchen after I graduated from college. And moved back in with them since I didn’t have any money. And I started cooking a lot to keep myself occupied and everyone fed. But, I digress.

I discovered a recipe for crab quiche in the local cookbook and modified it. I always find it filling and I also happen to think it makes for great leftovers. Also, it’s Dungeness crab season here on the west coast. Also known as my favorite time of year. So while I’m biding my time between now and the next cold cracked crab feed, I thought I’d share my favorite quiche recipe.

Prep time: 15 – 30 minutes

Bake time: 30 – 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 9 inch pie crust (Pillsbury or other pre-made crust is ok)
  • 1/4lb. mushrooms, sliced (white or cremini work well)
  • minced onion (feel free to use as much or little as you’d like – I normally use ~1/4 cup of white onions or shallots)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cans crabmeat, flaked
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup Swiss cheese, shredded

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Press pie crust into round, 9 1/2 inch pie plate. I use this one.
  • Make sure to drain all of the water out of the cans of crab. Leaving it moist means your quiche will taste fishy (and not so tasty!).
  • In a sauce pan, sauté garlic and mushrooms in butter, then add onion, crabmeat, salt, and pepper. Set aside.
  • Mix well-beaten eggs and cream.
  • Add egg and cream mixture to the sautéed ingredients. Mix in half of the Swiss cheese.
  • Pour mixture into the pie plate and top with the remainder of the Swiss cheese.
  • Bake for 45 minutes or until set.
  • Let quiche cool for 5 minutes or so until you cut into it and serve.

Tips:

  • If you’re worried about burning the crust, cover it with tinfoil before you put it in the oven. Remove the tinfoil about 5 – 10 minutes before the quiche is finished.
  • Don’t like Swiss cheese? Try something different like mozzarella or parmesan.

Enjoy!

Discuss!

