Books and More Books!

My time away from the blog wasn’t completely unproductive. I’m “lucky” enough to have a one hour commute each way to and from work on public transit. This gives me plenty of down time to catch up on news or read a good book. So far this year, I’ve had the opportunity to read several:

Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged
Brian Michael Till’s Conversations With Power: What Great Presidents and Prime Ministers Can Teach Us About Leadership
Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations
Chelsea Handler’s Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea
Chris Cleave’s Little Bee
Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City

And I am currently reading A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. I found the book via Goodreads’ Book Club.

I have some short reviews in the works that should be up soon.

What are you reading?

[Even though I’m not a dude, I loved the picture when I saw it. Thanks to katiew for making the image available for reuse.]

4 thoughts on “Books and More Books!

  1. Right now I'm reading David Foster Wallace's "The Pale King." And this year, so far, I've read:1. Iain M. Banks, "Surface Detail"2. Patton Oswalt, "Zombie Spaceship Wasteland"3. Adam Levin, "The Instructions" (amazing!)4. Jennifer Egan, "Visit from the Goon Squad"5. Patrick Rothfuss, "Wise Man's Fear"6. Dan Simmons, "Hyperion"7. Dan Simmons, "Fall of Hyperion"And after this DFW thing I'm probably going to read Tina Fey's book, and then Nabokov's "The Luzhin Defense".

  2. Nice work! When do you find time to read?I have heard Levin's name around, but I don't know much about his writing. What was the book about?Ooh! I too want to read Tina Fey's book!

  3. I read either on the subway or in bed. (And sometimes at work, if work is slow and the book is that absorbing.)The Instructions – hard to describe. It's a 1,000 page book written from the viewpoint of a 13-year-old boy who may or may not be the Messiah. The book is his "scripture." Incredibly well written and interesting and unique.

Discuss!

