A Crazy Month in News

I’m very much aware that the world was still revolving on its axis while the wedding planning was happening. I wasn’t that much out of the loop. I mean, how can you miss news stories like these:

-Prince William and Kate Middleton were married and are now the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge
-The “Birther” Movement
-The White House Correspondents’ Dinner
-Osama Bin Laden (OBL) was killed at the order of President Obama
-Dominique Strauss-Kahn (DSK) has been accused of sexual assault

The Royal Wedding. How crazy was that? I think all of England must have shut down for a few days just so everyone could celebrate the event. And people traveled from all over the world just to witness it. Busy with my own wedding, I only caught a few snippets on the news and online. I must say, I thought Catherine was incredibly stunning – so classic and elegant.

The “Birther” Movement. I’m going to be honest: I tried to steer clear of this as much as possible. What utter garbage: claiming that the President of the United States of America wasn’t really born in America and demanding to see his birth certificate. Leading the pack was Donald Trump.

The White House Correspondents’ Dinner. Seth Meyers was the comedian guest that night. Both he and the President ribbed on Donald Trump and the issue of the birth certificate (which Obama had released the day before). And then the next day, this happened:

The death of OBL. The popular question now is, “Where were you when you heard?” I was at home watching 60 Minutes. All of a sudden, there was a special report that interrupted the show saying that the President was going to speaking in about 30 minutes. As most Americans know, this is highly unusual. I started speculating about all the reasons he would be giving such an unexpected speech to the nation. It was a Sunday night! And when it was suggested to me that it might be because of the death of OBL, I could hardly believe it. It had been 10 years and seemed nearly impossible.

DSK accused of sexually assaulting a maid. DSK was stripped of his title as the Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund and his place in line to become France’s next President after being accused of sexually assaulting a hotel maid. He was arrested and sent to Riker’s Island. Last Friday he was released after posting bail. I am withholding my judgement until the trial is over. I really hope this isn’t true.

So that’s the last month in news. But the real question is now, where were you when you heard?

Discuss!

