Chasing the Holidays

I want to start by wishing everyone a very (belated) Happy Holidays! I hope everyone had a great time and stayed safe … and warm!



I have been MIA since a few days before Christmas. My time has been consumed by family, (all of the awesome that accompanies the) holidays, training, volunteering, and wedding planning. And since the new year started, mindless television. Here’s the recap:


I made time this holiday season for training. There’s less than a month to go before the half marathon on Super Bowl Sunday and I have been stepping up my training even in this very chilly weather! In fact, I had to purchase a new pair of shoes since my old ones weren’t cutting it anymore. I went from Asics to Adidas and I’m loving every cushy minute of it.


Wedding planning is complete insanity. I can’t imagine anyone choosing this as a profession. There is always something to be done or organized or managed and without a team of people to support me (or anyone) it makes it all the more stressful.


I watched only one movie over the break: Up in the Air. If you haven’t seen it, you should. Classic Clooney, great dialogue, and phenomenal cinematography. But more on that in another post.


In book news, I started re-reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. It was the first book I read after I graduated college and now it’s making for some motivational reading to and from work.


And this week some really great reality television (see what I did there?) started up again. The Bachelor began a new season with an old … bachelor, Brad Womack. The man that left his first season without either woman as arm candy. Two broken hearts – oh my! Although I have to admit that my favorite part of The Bachelor and The Bachelorette happen to be the blogs that the host, Chris Harrison, writes each week after the episodes air. On another note, I’m excited that Wipeout has returned. I can’t wait to catch up on the first Winter Wipeout episode this weekend – I know hilarity will ensue.

Enough with the recap – it’s time to welcome 2011! Thanks for reading and I am promising many more posts for this year!

[Thanks to the Behance Network for making the “Happy Holidays” image available for use and to valcanno for making the new year image available .]

2 thoughts on “Chasing the Holidays

  1. Hey Heather!Thanks for posting. Good to hear what you've been up to. You sure have a lot going on! Marathon training and wedding planning, wow! I really admire all the training and running you've been doing lately! And I hope that, for all the stress it understandably brings, there are moments of fun in the planning of your wedding. Of course, it's a very special day and it should be perfect and that takes work but hopefully the journey is somewhat enjoyable along with the destination. Wasn't Up in the Air a delight? Happy New Year! See you around! 🙂

  2. Caro! Thanks for reading!I will have to say that the half marathon training definitely helps to relieve the stress of some of the other tasks at hand :)Yes! The movie was fantastic. A review is upcoming …Hope to see you soon!

Discuss!

