Training for a Wikileaks Revolt in December – Overview

Actually, that title is misleading. I’ve started training for another half marathon and following all of the hullabaloo surrounding WikiLeaks and its Editor-in-Chief, Julian Assange. I have also started and finished C.D. Payne’s Youth in Revolt.

It was just last Wednesday that December snuck up on me. Although I have a sneaking suspicion that I wasn’t the only one feeling that way. I mean, logically, I knew that December was coming. It comes right after November. But I think it had more to do with the realization that the holidays were quickly approaching as well as the end of 2010. I’ll admit – I started feeling a bit overwhelmed.

Last Saturday, I started training for another half marathon. I have decided to try to walk and jog this time – on purpose! My goal is to jog at least half of the 13.1 miles of the race. I started by walking one mile, running one mile, and then walking the last mile. I didn’t think that launching right into a three mile run was the best idea. I have to admit that I was worried the running would make my legs stiff and sore. To my surprise, it was my lungs! I thought they were going to explode! It’s a good thing they didn’t. I plan on four miles today – two miles walking, two miles running.

 

 I also spent the weekend reading C.D. Payne’s novel, Youth in Revolt, at the suggestion of a friend. What a hilarious, witty read. And what a dangerous insight into the teenage male psyche at the behest of Nick Twisp.

 As for WikiLeaks, it’s been a persistent topic on my mind ever since I overheard one of the pundits on CNN, during a panel discussion, call for the murder of Julian Assange. I was so flabbergasted that it took quite a bit of restraint not to start openly arguing with the television. But more on that later.

For now, I am trying to plan my way through the holidays and enjoy the remainder of 2010. I’m sure you are doing the same! Best of luck to us all!

[Thank you to stockvault.net for the runner image and  biatch0r for sharing the WikiLeaks/Assange image. And thank you to Briar Press for the use of the girl reading a book image.]

Discuss!

