NaNoWriMo Here I Am!

Long time no blog. Again. This is something I really need to get better about. Speaking of getting better about writing, I was recently convinced – on November 4th, in fact – that I would be a great candidate for this year’s National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo for short. 50,000 words of fiction in 30 days, you say? No problem!

Yeah, right. What in the hell did I let myself get talked into? I love reading. If I didn’t know myself better, I would have thought that I was born to read! I will literally read anything and everything I can put my hands – and eyeballs – on. But the thought of writing my own work of fiction … hadn’t ever really occurred to me. NaNoWriMo was suggested to me a few weeks ago and I blew it off simply as, “I love reading novels so why the hell would I write one? I don’t have the slightest clue what to even right about.” I was then told it was about quantity, not quality. I still wasn’t convinced. Then someone played to my ego about being “the perfect candidate” and here I am. A participant for 2009. Since I signed up on Wednesday, I’ve been vacillating between sheer panic, procrastination, and fear. Less thinking, more action!

I just made the mistake of calculating the number of words, per day, that I need to write in order to hit the 50,000 word mark by midnight, November 30th. I came up with 1,667 words per day. PER DAY! Over the course of two days I was barely able to squeeze out somewhere around 1,700 words. I’m a working woman, for christsake! What the hell was I thinking when I started this idiotic, irrational endeavor? Clearly, not much.

I just finished typing up everything I have written thus far. Did I mention that I hand write most everything before typing it up because I feel more inspired when I do so? There I go again, making life much harder for myself than it needs to be.



Discuss!

